SEC Filings

AECOM filed this Form DEF 14A on 01/23/2019
Entire Document

Table of Contents

    noncontributory defined benefit retirement plan, under which certain eligible Management Services business segment employees receive annual retirement benefits at the employee's normal retirement age, which is calculated based on the employee's year of birth. The plan's benefit formula is integrated with Social Security and is based on the participant's years of service for the Company and career average compensation. For purposes of the plan, compensation generally means regular base salary (including deferrals made under our 401(k) plan, Section 125 flexible benefit plan and qualified transportation fringe benefit plan), commissions and severance pay, but excludes bonus, overtime pay, incentive pay reimbursements or other expense allowances or other adjustments, fringe benefits and any other type of special or nonrecurring pay. The employees who were eligible to participate were those employees who were hired by the Management Services business segment prior to June 30, 2003, and who were not in a position covered under certain contracts or in a unit of employment covered by a collective bargaining arrangement. Participants become 100% vested in their accrued benefits upon the earlier of (i) five years of service or (ii) attainment of age 45 while employed by the Management Services business segment. A participant will receive his or her normal retirement benefit upon attainment of his or her normal retirement age, which is based upon the applicable social security retirement age (which for Mr. Wotring is approximately age 66 and for Mr. Vollmer is approximately age 67), unless early retirement benefits are elected within 10 years of normal retirement age for a participant with at least 10 years of service at termination. A participant may postpone the receipt of his normal retirement benefit after attainment of normal retirement age if the participant continues working for the Management Services business segment. The plan was frozen effective January 31, 2016.

Executive Nonqualified Deferred Compensation for Fiscal Year 2018

The following table sets forth information with respect to activity in the AECOM Executive Deferred Compensation Plan ("EDCP") during fiscal year ended September 30, 2018. The EDCP is a non-qualified plan that enables eligible employees to defer compensation that they might otherwise have contributed to the tax-qualified RSP. Participants were allowed to defer the same elements of base salary into the EDCP as are allowed to be deferred under the RSP. The EDCP also allowed for sign-on bonuses and annual incentive bonuses to be deferred. Up to 50% of base salary and 100% of any eligible bonus may be deferred into the EDCP. The EDCP offers a fixed rate of return, which will be determined each year.

Name and Principal Position
in Last FY

in Last FY

in Last FY


at Last FY

W. Troy Rudd

  $0   $0   $11,750   $0   $295,639

Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer (PFO)


Earnings were calculated using the rate of 4.25% and, to the extent exceeding 120% of the Applicable Federal Rate, were included in the Nonqualified Deferred Compensation Earnings column of the "SUMMARY COMPENSATION" table.

Of these balances, the following amount was reported as an executive contribution or earnings above the Applicable Federal Rate in the Summary Compensation Table in prior year proxy statements: Mr. Rudd — $3,812. The information in this footnote is provided to clarify the extent to which amounts payable as deferred compensation represent compensation reported in our prior proxy statements, rather than additional currently earned compensation.

Payments and Benefits Upon Termination or Change in Control

Payments and benefits that would be provided to each NEO in addition to those received by all employees (such as payout of 401(k) balances and paid time off) as a result of certain termination events are set forth in the table below. The amounts shown assume a qualifying termination of employment effective as of the last day of fiscal year ended September 30, 2018.